The Essential Yo-Yo Ma

Yo-Yo Ma

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Essential Yo-Yo Ma Review

by James Manheim

Unlike the recent Classic Yo-Yo, really a single-disc sampler of the recorded work of our true superstar cellist, The Essential Yo-Yo Ma purports to be something more -- the Yo-Yo Ma album to own if you're going to own just one. Where Classic Yo-Yo more or less alternated track by track between Ma's straight classical and crossover music, The Essential Yo-Yo Ma devotes one of its two discs to the classics and the other to a generous sampling of music Ma has explored from around the popular sphere and around the world, including selections from his Silk Road Project and from his disc devoted to the music of Ennio Morricone.

There's a lot to be said for this approach; Ma has really maintained parallel classical and crossover careers, and when it comes to actualy mixing things up on the concert stage, others have been bolder than he. The crossover second disc is nicely sequenced and remastered, concluding with a previously unreleased arrangement of "I Could Have Danced All Night" as a bonus track. It's a very reasonable greatest-hits group.

The first disc is less successful as a representation of Ma's abilities in traditional repertoire. No complete multi-movement works are included, and most of the performances included are of the encore type. The disc moves more or less chronologically, beginning with a group of Bach and Vivaldi melodies (though Ma's involvement with Vivaldi is underrepresented by the single Four Seasons movement included) and proceeding to Romantic and late Romantic works. Many of these pieces (Gershwin's Prelude No. 1, Rachmaninov's Vocalise, Massenet's Méditation) are arrangements, and a few could have been sacrificed to make room for the consistent warmth that Ma brings to, say, Dvorák's cello concerto. Still, there's nothing here that makes this set anything less than a good introduction to a great musician, one who connects with audiences in a way that was second nature to the famed virtuosi of the past.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Suite for solo cello No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
1 Yo-Yo Ma 02:19 Amazon
Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in F minor ("L'inverno," The Four Seasons; "Il cimento" No. 4), Op. 8/4, RV 297
2 Yo-Yo Ma 01:46 Amazon
Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174)
3 Yo-Yo Ma 02:42 Amazon
Cantata No. 208, "Was mir behagt," (Hunt Cantata), BWV 208 (BC G1, G3)
4 Yo-Yo Ma 03:37 Amazon
5 Yo-Yo Ma 03:48 Amazon
6 Yo-Yo Ma 03:08 Amazon
7 Yo-Yo Ma 08:50 Amazon
8 Yo-Yo Ma 05:48 Amazon
9 Yo-Yo Ma 03:11 Amazon
Preludes (3) for piano
10 Yo-Yo Ma 01:43 Amazon
11 Yo-Yo Ma 06:26 Amazon
Sonata for cello & piano in D minor, Op. 40
12 Yo-Yo Ma 04:25 Amazon
13 Yo-Yo Ma 08:21 Amazon
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
14 Yo-Yo Ma 08:04 Amazon
Cello Concerto in B minor, B. 191 (Op. 104)
15 Yo-Yo Ma 12:50 Amazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Yo-Yo Ma 02:50 Amazon
2 Yo-Yo Ma 03:11 Amazon
3 Yo-Yo Ma 05:01 Amazon
4 Yo-Yo Ma 03:46 Amazon
5 Yo-Yo Ma 03:11 Amazon
6 Yo-Yo Ma 04:20 Amazon
7 Yo-Yo Ma 04:46 Amazon
8 Yo-Yo Ma 04:01 Amazon
Pieces (3) for solo cello
9 Yo-Yo Ma 02:34 Amazon
10 Yo-Yo Ma 02:31 Amazon
The Mission, film score
11 Yo-Yo Ma 03:11 Amazon
12 Yo-Yo Ma 02:28 Amazon
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, film score
13 Yo-Yo Ma 03:01 Amazon
14 Yo-Yo Ma 06:57 Amazon
15 Yo-Yo Ma 04:41 Amazon
16 Yo-Yo Ma 03:51 Amazon
17 Yo-Yo Ma 01:47 Amazon
Suite for cello & jazz piano trio
18 Yo-Yo Ma 04:25 Amazon
19 Yo-Yo Ma 05:53 Amazon
20 Yo-Yo Ma 03:43 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick