Yo-Yo Ma / Chris Thile / Edgar Meyer

Bach: Trios

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A unique group of multi-talented musicians offers a new perspective on one of the richest catalogs in the classical repertoire. Cellist Yo-Yo Ma is an acknowledged master of his instrument, and celebrated for his interpretations of J.S. Bach. Always eager to stretch the boundaries of his art, Ma set out to create a set of new arrangements of Bach keyboard pieces for a string trio. Ma chose a pair of gifted and eclectically minded collaborators for the album Bach: Trios -- bassist Edgar Meyer and mandolin player Chris Thile, both of whom are as comfortable with bluegrass and improvisational music as with the classical repertoire (and both of whom have been awarded MacArthur Foundation "genius grants"). Together, Ma, Meyer, and Thile demonstrate how they can honor tradition while bringing new ideas and influences to Bach's music on these recordings.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
Trio Sonata No. 6 in G major, BWV 530
1 3:12
2 6:08
3 2:59
Prelude No. 19 in A major from the Well-Tempered Clavier Book I, BWV 864
4 1:36
5 4:43
Fugue No. 20 in A minor from the Well-Tempered Clavier Book II, BWV 889
6 1:34
7 2:29
Prelude and Fugue No. 18 in E minor, BWV 548
8 5:41
9 6:11
Keyboard Partita No. 5 in G major, BWV 829
10 2:04
11 2:55
The Art of the Fugue, BWV 1080
12 2:20
13 2:22
14 4:11
Sonata for Viola da Gamba No. 3 in G minor, BWV 1029
15 4:54
16 4:18
17 3:15
blue highlight denotes track pick