Leonard Bernstein

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring; The Firebird Suite (1919)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is the "Masterworks Expanded Edition" of Leonard Bernstein's Quadrophonic 1972 London Symphony Orchestra recording of Igor Stravinsky's Le Sacre du printemps. It was Bernstein's second go at the work in the studio, the first being made at the tail end of the mono era in January 1958 with the New York Philharmonic. CBS was very heavily into "Quad," and this justified a second recording of Bernstein in Le Sacre du printemps in order to show off the boom and bang of the new system. Whereas the 1972 Sacre is definitely exciting in spots and is a wildly colorful performance, it is also inconsistent in tempo, orchestral balance, and intonation. The percussion and brass parts are really LOUD, however, which may help account for its popularity. The high end is very bright and brittle, and the middle of the orchestral picture is cloudy and clotted; yet other things are good, such as the amazingly long and precisely departing room decay captured at the end of the "Cortège du Sage."

While this is the "Masterworks Expanded Edition," the package doesn't really say what Sony release this is "expanded" from, although it appears to relate to SMK 60694, a deleted Bernstein Century installment that once sold at the same price point. In both instances, the filler consisted of Bernstein's 1957 mono recording of Stravinsky's Firebird Suite, a good performance in which, this time, the brass is a bit too far back and the finale plods rather than strides. The new package "expands" on the Bernstein Century issue by virtue of including his 1964 recording of Scythian Suite, a terrific idea that would've been the right one even the first time around. This is a fabulous performance in Bernstein's best vernacular for Russian music, the only disadvantage being that it's a little weak in the bass, typically so for the New York Philharmonic's Manhattan Center recordings.

What would have been truly "expanded" about this Masterworks Expanded Edition was if they had converted Le Sacre into a Super Audio CD with the Quad sound remixed specifically for home theater systems -- the old Quad recordings of the 1970s work really well in that technological context. Perhaps this would have shed a little light on the muddy mid-range in this Sacre as well.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra
1 Leonard Bernstein 03:20 Amazon
2 Leonard Bernstein 03:12 Amazon
3 Leonard Bernstein 01:18 Amazon
4 Leonard Bernstein 03:31 Amazon
5 Leonard Bernstein 01:55 Amazon
6 Leonard Bernstein 01:07 Amazon
7 Leonard Bernstein 01:14 Amazon
8 Leonard Bernstein 05:01 Amazon
9 Leonard Bernstein 03:27 Amazon
10 Leonard Bernstein 01:41 Amazon
11 Leonard Bernstein 00:58 Amazon
12 Leonard Bernstein 03:52 Amazon
13 Leonard Bernstein 04:51 Amazon
L' oiseau de feu (The Firebird), concert suite for orchestra No. 2
14 Leonard Bernstein 03:20 Amazon
15 Leonard Bernstein 00:14 Amazon
16 Leonard Bernstein 01:09 Amazon
17 Leonard Bernstein 05:13 Amazon
18 Leonard Bernstein 03:57 Amazon
19 Leonard Bernstein 03:50 Amazon
20 Leonard Bernstein 03:34 Amazon
Scythian Suite, for orchestra, Op. 20
21 Leonard Bernstein 06:18 Amazon
22 Leonard Bernstein 02:42 Amazon
23 Leonard Bernstein 05:02 Amazon
24 Leonard Bernstein 05:42 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick