Leonard Bernstein

Leonard Bernstein: A Tribute

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Leonard Bernstein: A Tribute Review

by William Ruhlmann

Sony Classical's 1997 reissue of Leonard Bernstein's own early '60s recordings of his orchestral versions of some of his theater and film music was part of its Bernstein Century series and was an especially felicitous example of the virtues of CD repackagings. The "Candide" overture has become one of the composer's most celebrated efforts; the symphonic dances from West Side Story present an efficient précis of the entire score; the symphonic suite from On the Waterfront gives an organized form of the only film music Bernstein ever wrote; and Fancy Free was, of course, his first significant work for the stage. Bernstein was music director of the New York Philharmonic at the time the recordings were made, the orchestra had premiered some of the works, and the match of conductor and orchestra was perfect. Sonic improvements give the CD a depth and brilliance not heard on the original LPs. The result is outstanding.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Chichester Psalms, for boy soloist, chorus & orchestra
1 Leonard Bernstein 03:31 Amazon
2 Leonard Bernstein 05:36 Amazon
3 Leonard Bernstein 09:12 Amazon
Symphonic Dances (9) from "West Side Story", for orchestra (orchestrated with Ramin & Kostal)
4 Leonard Bernstein 03:59 Amazon
5 Leonard Bernstein 03:24 Amazon
6 Leonard Bernstein 01:53 Amazon
7 Leonard Bernstein 02:11 Amazon
8 Leonard Bernstein 00:57 Amazon
9 Leonard Bernstein 00:47 Amazon
10 Leonard Bernstein 00:42 Amazon
11 Leonard Bernstein 03:44 Amazon
12 Leonard Bernstein 03:20 Amazon
13 Leonard Bernstein 16:31 Amazon
14 Leonard Bernstein 11:04 Amazon
15 Leonard Bernstein 05:25 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick