Bob Dylan

Exclusive Series '94

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Given its massive size and scope, the Bob Dylan bootleg catalog represents one of the most daunting challenges in popular music scholarship. While rabid enthusiasts with deep pockets may be able to acquire everything, most consumers must limit themselves to landmark sessions and particularly transcendent live shows capturing the absolute peaks of Dylan's long and winding career. For the budget bootleg buyer there's Osa's Exclusive Series compilations, which assemble the unequivocal zeniths of a particular year or tour to create a virtual highlight reel of live Dylan classics. Exclusive Series '94 culls material from Dylan's brief European jaunt spanning July 16 to 25, paring an otherwise forgettable leg of the Never-Ending Tour into something remarkable. These renditions of warhorses like "Mr. Tambourine Man," "Just Like a Woman," and "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" smolder with an energy and conviction recalling legendary tours of decades past.