Lou Reed

Original Album Series

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released in 2013, Original Album Series offers five Lou Reed albums from the middle period of his solo career -- 1989's New York to 2000's Ecstasy -- for a budget price. The packaging is basic to save costs, with each album in a paper sleeve that replicates the artwork. The first two albums of the series, New York and Songs for Drella, are the most essential of the bunch, but this is a quick and cheap way to get Magic and Loss, Set the Twilight Reeling, and Ecstasy as well, since each has its moments.

blue highlight denotes track pick