The Very Best of Nina Simone: Sugar in My Bowl 1967-1972

Nina Simone

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Very Best of Nina Simone: Sugar in My Bowl 1967-1972 Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Nina Simone recorded for RCA Records between 1967 and 1972. While she was in fine form during those years, she didn't make her best records there, and sounded particularly ill at ease whenever she did pop-rock covers, which was more often than she should. However, these songs are selling points for a certain audience, namely the audience RCA is targeting with their generous 40-track collection, The Very Best of Nina Simone. True, her recordings during these five years were a little inconsistent, as she covered the classics, performed new songs, and tackled contemporary material, so perhaps it's fitting that this compilation is also a little schizophrenic. Nevertheless, that doesn't make the compilation much more than an interesting summation of a conflicted, occasionally rewarding, era of Simone's career that will be useful for already-dedicated fans that want to explore a little deeper than just her classic recordings.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Nina Simone 04:12 Amazon
2 Nina Simone 02:47
3 Nina Simone 02:30
4 Nina Simone 02:17
5 Nina Simone 03:56 Amazon
6 Nina Simone 02:26
7 Nina Simone 02:52 Amazon
8 Nina Simone 04:11 Amazon
9 Nina Simone 02:46 Amazon
10 Nina Simone 03:08
11 Nina Simone 02:00 Amazon
12 Nina Simone 02:27
13 Nina Simone 02:21
14 Nina Simone 02:40
15 Nina Simone 03:13 Amazon
16 Nina Simone 02:40
17 Nina Simone 03:34
18 Nina Simone 02:16
19 Nina Simone 02:45 Amazon
20 Nina Simone 05:59
21 Nina Simone 06:39
22 Nina Simone 05:29
blue highlight denotes track pick