Barbra Streisand

Highlights from "Just for the Record"

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

For those who don't have the budget for the 4 CD "Just For The Record" box set, this single disc collects some of its more memorable performances.. This record is chock full of album versions, demos and unreleased rarities. "You'll Never Know" has a 13 year old Barbra strutting her stuff, expressing early signs of greatness. "A Sleepin' Bee" is from "The Jack Paar Show" in 1961, Barbra's first time on TV. There is no stage fright detected as she glides magnificently through the song. A real treat for Barbra fans is the inclusion of three songs recorded live from The Bon Soir Club in New York. "I Hate Music", "Nobody's Heart (Belongs To Me)" and "Cry Me A River" present the live Streisand experience complete with stage monologue.

There are also duets aplenty, including "Cryin' Time" (with Ray Charles), which is as soulful as you get. "You Don't Bring Me Flowers" (with Neil Diamond) has the audience going mad at the 1980 Grammys. And "You'll Never Know" is Barbra's duet with Barbra! The album comes full circle as a 1988 recording is mixed over its 1955 version to show how the artist has matured. A fine overview of Babs' career, and great listening.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:00 Spotify
2 3:40 Spotify
3 3:21
4 1:13 Spotify
5 2:11 Spotify
6 3:57 Spotify
feat: Judy Garland
8 3:40 Spotify
9 4:28
10 2:29 Spotify
11 2:47 Spotify
0:58 Spotify
13 1:59 Spotify
14 4:09 Spotify
15 3:36 Spotify
16 2:19 Spotify
17 5:19 Spotify
18 3:14 Spotify
19 3:33 Spotify
20 3:37 Spotify
21 3:36 Spotify
22 4:14 Spotify
23 2:50 Spotify
24 4:07 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick