The Legends Collection [Dressed to Kill]

Bobby Womack

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Legends Collection [Dressed to Kill] Review

by Andrew Hamilton

A compilation of the six earliest years of Womack's solo career from 1969 to 1975 of tracks recorded for Minit and United Artists Records; the collection is pretty definitive for that period, making it a must for Womack fans. Employing a gritty, storytelling tenor, the Cleveland-spawned soul singer, writer, producer, and guitarist does his thing on 38 tracks, all full-length, making this work even more essential. If not a big fan, Bobby's grits-and-sausage delivery becomes samey after six or seven tracks; he doesn't punctuate with screams, à la Wilson Pickett, or change range as more fluid singers do, but smokes the right material. A blue-collar singer, Bobby Womack appeals to lovers of the raw, though many will argue that point as his tracks are usually lavish for the brand of soul he sings; Bobby, however, has the ability to dumb down the most sophisticated string or horn arrangement to no nonsense takes, as in "Woman Gotta Have It," a soulful "Fly Me to the Moon," "I Can Understand It," "That's the Way I Feel About Cha," "You're Welcome Stop on By," a bumpin' update of "Looking for a Love," a remake of the Temptations' "Just My Imagination," "Harry Hippie," an ode to his late brother, and "Across 110th Street" from the movie of the same name.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Bobby Womack 02:35 Amazon
2 Bobby Womack 02:10 Amazon
3 Bobby Womack 03:23 Amazon
4 Bobby Womack 02:04 Amazon
5 Bobby Womack 02:23 Amazon
6 Bobby Womack 02:23 Amazon
7 Bobby Womack 03:18 Amazon
8 Bobby Womack 02:49 Amazon
9 Bobby Womack 02:28 Amazon
10 Bobby Womack 05:57 Amazon
11 Bobby Womack 04:40 Amazon
12 Bobby Womack 04:45 Amazon
13 Bobby Womack 05:09 Amazon
14 Bobby Womack 02:53 Amazon
15 Bobby Womack 03:26 Amazon
16 Bobby Womack 04:07 Amazon
17 Bobby Womack 03:09 Amazon
18 Bobby Womack 02:58 Amazon
19 Bobby Womack 03:49 Amazon
20 Bobby Womack 03:44 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick