Railroad Jerk

One Track Mind

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Marcellus Hall's rootsy vocals on One Track Mind blended with the band's bluesy instrumentation to create a stellar indie rock album. The band's take on roots rock could be a genre all its own, as no other band was quite as gritty yet catchy during the mid-'90s era. "Bang the Drum" is a Jon Spencer Blues Explosion-spiced rocker. "What Did You Expect" has a folky, back-porch feel before it transforms itself into a gutsy and direct track. On "Forty Minutes," Hall laments about his impending death, narrating his final wishes. "The Ballad of Railroad Jerk" is the tale of the band's turbulent attempt to swim upstream in an industry that often fights against trailblazers like Railroad Jerk. The band's confident sound is filled with a kind swagger, especially on tracks like "Help Yourself" and "You Better Go Now." The sound calms down on "Some Girl Waved," which is followed by the bass-driven album-closer "Zero Blues." Guitarist Alec Stephen, bassist Tony Lee, and drummer Dave Varenka round out the quartet. The album was recorded at New York City's Tin Pan Alley Studios in 1994. Matador Records released One Track Mind in 1995.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:57 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:46 SpotifyAmazon
3 5:09 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:50 SpotifyAmazon
5 4:49 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:49 SpotifyAmazon
7 4:28 SpotifyAmazon
8 5:29 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:39 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:25 SpotifyAmazon
11 4:03 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:30 SpotifyAmazon
13 4:14 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick