Colin Davis

Haydn: Die Schöpfung [SACD]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Stephen Eddins

Colin Davis leads the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a solid performance of The Creation in the LSO Live series. The sound of the SACD is clean for a live recording, except for a slight rustling when the chorus stands and sits. The soloists are nicely foregrounded so that their contributions are always clear and distinct. The sound of the orchestra is always bright and clean, but the chorus is somewhat murky, so much so that the words are often unintelligible. Davis shapes the work nicely, and the orchestra responds beautifully to his energetic reading. The work's most familiar movement, "The heavens are telling the glory of God," is thrilling in Davis' surging interpretation. The soloists are not consistent in their delivery. Tenor Ian Bostridge gets off to a shaky start with a vibrato that sometimes obscures the pitch, but he becomes increasingly secure as the performance progresses. Soprano Sally Matthews sounds a little heavy and matronly, especially in parts one and two, although she manages the coloratura demands with assurance and dazzle. Baritone Dietrich Henschel turns in the most satisfying vocal performance, singing with warm tone and nuanced attention to detail. This version may not be at the top of the list of recordings of The Creation, but it's an entirely respectable venture, with the infectious orchestral playing being its strongest point.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2
1 Colin Davis 00:25 Amazon
2 Colin Davis 06:51 Amazon
3 Colin Davis 01:57 Amazon
4 Colin Davis 00:28 Amazon
5 Colin Davis 04:33 Amazon
6 Colin Davis 02:13 Amazon
7 Colin Davis 00:23 Amazon
8 Colin Davis 03:25 Amazon
9 Colin Davis 03:00 Amazon
10 Colin Davis 00:38 Amazon
11 Colin Davis 03:46 Amazon
12 Colin Davis 00:26 Amazon
13 Colin Davis 01:19 Amazon
14 Colin Davis 03:52 Amazon
15 Colin Davis 02:56 Amazon
16 Colin Davis 04:36 Amazon
17 Colin Davis 10:07 Amazon
18 Colin Davis 02:24 Amazon
19 Colin Davis 07:51 Amazon
20 Colin Davis 00:33 Amazon
21 Colin Davis 03:28 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick