Lionel Hampton

Greatest Hits [RCA]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The title of this Lionel Hampton introductory CD is a joke since none of the vibraphonist's hits (such as "Flying Home" and "Hamp's Boogie Woogie") are here, nor is there any personnel listing or reference to these sessions in the vapid liner notes. Such players as trumpeter Ziggy Elman, tenor saxophonist Ben Webster and pianist Nat King Cole are among the sidemen on the nine titles from 1939-40. There are also five unrelated titles from a 1956 session cut in Spain that includes pianist Tete Montoliu on two songs and an 11-piece group on the others; all of these songs are currently available on other Bluebird CDs. Pass this sloppy effort by.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:16 Amazon
2 2:52 Amazon
3 2:54 Amazon
4 6:13
5 4:11
6 7:02 Amazon
7 2:44 Amazon
8 3:20 Amazon
9 2:49 Amazon
10 4:12
11 6:07
12 2:56
13 2:38 Amazon
14 3:03
blue highlight denotes track pick