Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

It's quite difficult to find a young person who knows about the Scorpions. Even when their careers were peaking in the '80s, they were never widely recognized, existing always as more of an underground band. The lack of hit singles produced by the group is by no means a judgment of its talent, however, as Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years proves. Some may find the fact that Mercury made the compilation a double-disc set surprising -- again due to the band's small following -- but the album is far better than the single-disc collection Best of Rockers 'n' Ballads. Following chronologically from 1979 to 1993 (thus covering the years in which the band enjoyed its most success), Deadly Sting rips through the favorites "Loving You Sunday Morning," "The Zoo," "Blackout," "No One Like You," "Big City Nights," "Still Loving You," "Rock You Like a Hurricane," "Rhythm of Love," "Wind of Change," and "Don't Believe Her," finally concluding with two unreleased recordings from 1995. Though these tracks are far cries from the songs that proceeded them, that doesn't stop Deadly Sting: The Mercury Years from being the most essential album from one of the most under-rated hair bands of all time.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:03 SpotifyAmazon
2 03:48 Amazon
3 03:59 SpotifyAmazon
4 05:08 SpotifyAmazon
5 05:23 SpotifyAmazon
6 03:21 SpotifyAmazon
7 04:44 SpotifyAmazon
8 04:55 SpotifyAmazon
9 05:12 SpotifyAmazon
10 04:35 SpotifyAmazon
11 04:33 SpotifyAmazon
12 05:44 SpotifyAmazon
13 04:52 SpotifyAmazon
14 05:56 SpotifyAmazon
15 04:19 SpotifyAmazon
16 04:24 SpotifyAmazon
17 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick