Alina Ibragimova

Ysaÿe: Sonatas for Solo Violin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

The six Sonatas for solo violin of Eugène Ysaÿe are essential works in his catalog, inspired by the sonatas and partitas of J.S. Bach, and composed as a tribute to the violinists Joseph Szigeti, Jacques Thibaud, George Enescu, Fritz Kreisler, Mathieu Crickboom, and Manuel Quiroga. These pieces suggest a Janus-like combination of retrospection and the avant-garde, hearkening to the past through allusive figurations and direct quotations (e.g., references in the Sonata No. 2 to Bach's Partita No. 3 and the Dies Irae), but looking to the future in the use of extended violin techniques and novel sonorities. Alina Ibragimova's 2015 release on Hyperion is an absorbing performance, concentrated in tone and accomplished in technique, yet wonderfully ambiguous in expression, in keeping with Ysaÿe's quirky mix of playfulness and high-minded seriousness. Recorded in the concert hall of Wyastone Estate, Monmouth, in May 2014, Ibragimova has great clarity and presence, and the acoustics provide enough resonance to soften the violin's sometimes overly rosinous sound.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Sonata No. 1 in G minor, for solo violin, Op. 27 No. 1
1 Alina Ibragimova 05:49 Amazon
2 Alina Ibragimova 04:43 Amazon
3 Alina Ibragimova 04:39 Amazon
4 Alina Ibragimova 02:58 Amazon
Sonata No. 2 in A minor, for solo violin, Op. 27 No. 2
5 Alina Ibragimova 02:21 Amazon
6 Alina Ibragimova 03:06 Amazon
7 Alina Ibragimova 04:22 Amazon
8 Alina Ibragimova 03:11 Amazon
9 Alina Ibragimova 07:45 Amazon
Sonata No. 4 in E minor, for solo violin, Op. 27 No. 4
10 Alina Ibragimova 05:17 Amazon
11 Alina Ibragimova 03:22 Amazon
12 Alina Ibragimova 02:48 Amazon
Sonata No. 5 in G major, for solo violin, Op. 27 No. 5
13 Alina Ibragimova 04:31 Amazon
14 Alina Ibragimova 05:22 Amazon
15 Alina Ibragimova 07:22 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick