Alina Ibragimova / Cédric Tiberghien

Mozart: Violin Sonatas Nos. 6, 7, 19, 28, 35; Variations in G major; Sonata in B flat major K570

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This release by violinist Alina Ibragimova and pianist Cédric Tiberghien is part of a complete cycle of Mozart's works for piano and violin, as the combination is designated in the graphics, and as it was generally designated by Mozart himself. The set is complete in every sense; Mozart's group of juvenile compositions for these instruments are all included, and they're scattered through the set rather than being grouped together. This doesn't necessarily make for a satisfying flow, and the early sonatas don't stand up to the modern piano on which they are played. Another rarely played item here is the Piano Sonata in B flat major, K. 570, which was published with a violin part at the end of the 18th century and continued to appear in that form for some time. It was definitely not by Mozart, who designated his sonata as "für Klavier allein" (for piano alone), but it is of historical interest. The good news, as it has been throughout this series, is that Ibragimova and Tiberghien are fine Mozart players, with elegance and with an exceptionally keen feel for the way Mozart was realizing the potential the violin part could have. Sample one of the outer movements of the Violin Sonata in E flat major, K. 302, for a taste of this duo's verve. Recommended.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
Sonata in E flat major K302
1 07:46
2 06:22
Variations in G major K359 on 'La bergère Célimène'
3 00:57
4 01:01
5 00:56
6 00:53
7 00:56
8 00:54
9 00:58
10 01:01
11 01:12
12 01:36
13 00:47
14 03:55
15 01:02
Sonata in A major K526
16 09:16
17 09:16
18 07:06
blue highlight denotes track pick