Eugene Chadbourne

We'll Be Together Again

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Number Nine in the discography of the Jack and Jim Show, Eugene Chadbourne and Jimmy Carl Black's long-standing collaboration, We'll Be Together Again is a two-CDR set recorded live during a tour of Scandinavia in 2003. Pianist/noisemaker Pat Thomas rounds up the group, like on the previous J&J release, the tribute CD Jimi 2. This is an average set of performances for this group, hardly more, and the track list contains very few surprises. Jack & Jim revisit their usual material, from Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart covers to Jimi Hendrix, Black Uhuru ("Night of the Living Dread," part of J&J's very first album) and Eric Dolphy. Disc One begins with three fresh cuts: a cover of DMX's "One More Road to Cross," the Chadbourne original "I Support the Troops and I Want My Money Back" (much less convincing than the solo recording released simultaneously on the album of the same title), and a very funny rewriting of Antonio Carlos Jobim's Tropicalia anthem "The Girl From Ipanema," rechristened "The Girl From Al-Quaeda." The remainder of the set provides a strong feeling of déjà vu, despite the addition of Thomas. But the man (credited on the cover as "the artist formerly known as Black Paddy") is often drowned out in the mix, his wild piano chords and noisy electronics sadly kept at a distance. However, and despite Chadbourne's awfully out-of-tune vocals on "Concentration Moon," We'll Be Together Again provides a good overview of the group's past and present work. It's not Jack & Jim's best release, but it touches all of their bases -- including their fondness for inserting "life on the road" collages between songs.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
2 4:17
3 3:33
4 5:47
5 6:37
6 5:27
7 3:48
8 5:52
9 3:53
10 8:00
11 6:39
12 5:12
13 4:56
14 5:05
15 4:15
16 3:08
17 4:51
18 1:46
19 3:34
21 3:15
22 7:03
23 5:20
24 5:48
25 7:07
blue highlight denotes track pick