Doris Day

The Girl Next Door [Entertainers]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Nothing beyond the title offers a clue as to the intentions of the compilers of this British budget album, but an examination of the contents reveals that, for the most part, they assembled an album of songs from Doris Day's movies. Day frequently appeared in movie musicals in the late '40s and early '50s, and she also recorded studio albums and singles for Columbia Records of the songs she sang in those movies. Several of the films were period pictures that gave her the opportunity to sing vintage material. Many of those recordings are heard here: "It's Magic" from Day's film debut Romance on the High Seas (1948); "I Want to Be Happy," "Oh Me! Oh My!," and "Tea for Two" from Tea for Two (1951); a retitled version of "No, No, Nanette"; "Just One of Those Things," "Lullaby of Broadway," "Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone," and "Somebody Loves Me" from Lullaby of Broadway (1951); "Moonlight Bay" from On Moonlight Bay (1951); "By the Light of the Silvery Moon" from By the Light of the Silvery Moon (1953); "Secret Love" from Calamity Jane (1953); "You My Love" from Young at Heart (1954); "At Sundown," "Everybody Loves My Baby," "I'll Never Stop Loving You," "Love Me or Leave Me," "Mean to Me," "My Blue Heaven," "Never Look Back," and "You Made Me Love You" from Love Me or Leave Me (1955), the film biography of Ruth Etting starring Day; "Julie" from the non-musical Julie (1956); and "Que Sera Sera" from the non-musical The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956). There are also seven songs among the 29 selections that are not from Day's films, though the compilers may have thought at least one was. The West Point Story (1950) was retitled Fine and Dandy when it was released in the U.K., and Day recorded the 1930 show song "Fine and Dandy," included here, around the same time, though it wasn't in the film. The other tracks are recordings Day also made in the '50s, such as "I've Gotta Sing Away These Blues," which was released as the B-side of "Que Sera Sera." Only a few of Day's hits are included on the album -- a remake of "Sentimental Journey," "It's Magic," "Secret Love," and "Que Sera Sera" -- but fans of her movie musicals will find much to enjoy in this collection.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:05
2 2:14
3 2:47
4 2:04
5 1:09
6 2:35
7 1:32
8 2:47
9 3:15
10 2:28
11 2:21
12 2:17
13 2:11
14 1:54
15 3:43
16 1:44
17 3:43
18 2:51
19 2:26
20 2:23
21 1:51
22 1:44
23 2:11
24 2:19
25 3:09
26 2:38
27 2:26
28 3:04
blue highlight denotes track pick