Carter Burwell

The Alamo [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Carter Burwell's score for The Alamo incorporates, aptly enough, elements of music from the Old West into his intricately melodic and percussive style. Cues such as "What We're Defending" have a typically rousing, patriotic mix of strings and horns, but even then Burwell finds a way to give these moments some of his character by ending the track with a contemplative harp. Mexican musical motifs also come through on tracks like the charming "El Bexareno," which moves from playful flutes and mariachi horns into bittersweet strings. Still other tracks, like "300 Miles of Snow," have a folky, Western cast to them. The score also juxtaposes radically different pieces, such as the ominous "Who Took Their Loved Ones" and the lighthearted "Listen to the Mockingbird Sing." "Deguello de Crockett" is an especially striking track, pairing lonesome fiddles with martial drums and brass. But the main attraction of the score, is, of course, the music that accompanies the battle of the Alamo itself. The six-part suite begins with the eight-minute "The Battle of the Alamo, Pt. 1," commencing with tremulous strings before building into a more ominous brass and string melody, followed by a rousing flourish of brass and percussion that is abruptly cut off by more bleak-sounding strings. The rest of the suite follows suit, becoming gradually more and more mournful until it ends with an aptly funereal finale. The score ends with "Blood, or Texas," a pensive finale that, like the rest of The Alamo, conveys the mood of the film while also expressing Burwell's unique approach.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
The Alamo, film score
1 01:46 Amazon
2 00:55 Amazon
3 01:48 Amazon
4 01:19 Amazon
5 02:54 Amazon
The Alamo, film score
6 01:03 Amazon
7 01:15 Amazon
The Alamo, film score
8 01:35 Amazon
9 01:46 Amazon
10 02:23 Amazon
11 02:38 Amazon
12 00:54 Amazon
13 01:02 Amazon
14 01:35 Amazon
15 01:19 Amazon
16 01:09 Amazon
17 03:15 Amazon
18 08:29 Amazon
19 01:43 Amazon
20 02:24 Amazon
21 01:20 Amazon
22 02:20 Amazon
23 02:43 Amazon
24 02:18 Amazon
25 02:37 Amazon
26 03:03 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick