Pepe Aguilar

Lástima Que Sean Ajenas

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Pepe Aguilar's Lástima Que Sean Ajenas (translated as "Pity Those That Are Outside") is his own heartfelt tribute to the great Mexican singer Don Vicente Fernandez. Most of the recording is composed of tunes that are associated with his subject, including the title track by Jorge Macías Gómez, Manuel Flores Monterrosas' "Qué Bonita, Qué Bonita," Fernando Z. Maldonado's "Hermoso Cariño," and Chucho Monge's "Dolor." Aguilar relies more on tradition that innovation in his arrangements and readings of these songs, staying close to the original melodies. Where he differs from Fernandez is in his phrasing, a trademark that has made him one of the most cherished singers in Mexico.

blue highlight denotes track pick