Doris Day

Lost Treasures

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Many releases attempt to lure buyers with misleading titles that seem to promise previously undiscovered rarities. Varese Sarabande makes a similar claim with the title Lost Treasures, but backs it up with an album of gems, many never before released on CD. Doris Day is heard on a set of transcriptions recorded between 1944 and 1947 with Les Brown & His Orchestra, a collaboration that began in 1940 and produced some of the loveliest music of the big-band era. Fans who adore the Collectors' Choice compilation The Complete Doris Day With Les Brown will find this material at a similarly high level -- Day's bubbling, crystal-pure voice becoming pure magic when matched to the Brown orchestra's mix of dynamic punch and swaying rhythm. She does very well poaching Frank Sinatra's "Oh! What It Seemed to Be," Bing Crosby's bouncy "Swinging on a Star," and Helen Forrest and Jo Stafford's nostalgic standard "Long Ago (And Far Away)." Anyone unfamiliar with Day's work during the '40s could argue that a collection like this is for fans only, but the performances are golden and deserve to be heard.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:47 Amazon
2 02:28 Amazon
3 02:29 Amazon
4 03:13 Amazon
5 02:25 Amazon
6 02:35 Amazon
7 02:23 Amazon
8 02:54 Amazon
9 02:49 Amazon
feat: Les Brown
01:45 Amazon
11 02:32 Amazon
12 02:03 Amazon
13 02:37 Amazon
14 01:48 Amazon
feat: Les Brown
02:05 Amazon
16 02:55 Amazon
17 02:05 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick