Woody Guthrie

Hard Travelin': The Asch Recordings, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This 27-song collection focuses on Guthrie's topical songs, though not all of the topics are political; there is, for instance, a "Hanukkah Dance" and an excerpt from his variation on the "Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam," the children's song "Howdjadoo," and the gospel number "I Ain't Got No Home in This World Anymore." Progressives will find plenty to cheer along with here, though, whether it's a labor anthem like "Farmer-Labor Train" or "Ladies Auxiliary"; there are also a few tunes specifically directed toward the anti-fascism war effort in World War II. Despite the nominal topical anthology theme, this is really just a decent sampling of Guthrie's 1940s recordings (most done for Moe Asch), some of it socially conscious, some not. Some of these are among his better-known songs ("1913 Massacre," "Hard Travelin'," "So Long It's Been Good to Know You"); major folkys like Cisco Houston, Sonny Terry, and Pete Seeger help out occasionally, though it's usually just Guthrie alone with his guitar. The sound quality is good (especially considering that some of these have been transferred from fragile acetates), and the quality of the material and performance is strong; a few of the performances were previously unreleased.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:31 Spotify
2 02:48 Spotify
3 01:39 Spotify
4 02:32 Spotify
5 02:43
6 03:45 Spotify
7 03:04 Spotify
8 02:28 Spotify
9 02:44 Spotify
10 02:05 Spotify
11 02:44 Spotify
12 03:22 Spotify
13 03:55 Spotify
14 02:28 Spotify
15 03:45 Spotify
16 02:22 Spotify
17 03:01
18 02:06 Spotify
19 03:13
20 03:27 Spotify
21 02:09 Spotify
22 02:09 Spotify
23 02:45 Spotify
24 00:42 Spotify
25 03:40
26 05:33 Spotify
27 01:24 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick