The Ventures

Guitar Freakout/Wild Things!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Guitar Freakout/Wild Things! Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

One Way reissued two Ventures albums from the mid-'60s, Guitar Freakout and Wild Things, on a single disc in 1997. Both of these records find the Ventures trying to shake up their image and play wilder music, as influenced by contemporary pop, rock, garage rock and psychedelia. They never stray too far from the course, which may be a disappointment to those who took the title of Guitar Freakout literally. There aren't really that many solos -- and even fewer freakouts -- on Guitar Freakout, which might not be surprising to those who noticed that the band covers "I'm a Believer" and "Snoopy Vs. the Red Baron" on the record. The band manages to turn out a handful of fine tracks, including "Theme from The Wild Angels," but ultimately, it's an average Ventures album, sporting a few good tracks and a lot of filler. Wild Things is a little stronger, but it still suffers from uneven material. Most of the songs on the album have "wild" in the title, from the well-known "Wild Thing" and "Wild Child," to "Wild and Wooly," "Fuzzy and Wild," "Wildcat" and "How Now Wild Cow." It's a reasonably energetic rock & roll record, but there are a few too many slow spots to make it of interest to anyone outside of the band's cult. One Way added three bonus tracks -- "Classical Gas," "Kickstand" and "Mercenary" -- to their two-fer. They add value to this set, which could have been presented with better packaging and slightly better remastering.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Ventures 02:29 Amazon
2 The Ventures 02:05 Amazon
3 The Ventures 02:07 Amazon
4 The Ventures 01:44 Amazon
5 The Ventures 02:00 Amazon
6 The Ventures 03:00 Amazon
7 The Ventures 02:27 Amazon
8 The Ventures 02:26 Amazon
9 The Ventures 02:39 Amazon
The Ventures 02:12 Amazon
11 The Ventures 02:00 Amazon
12 The Ventures 01:43 Amazon
13 The Ventures Amazon
14 The Ventures Amazon
15 The Ventures Amazon
16 The Ventures Amazon
17 The Ventures Amazon
18 The Ventures Amazon
19 The Ventures Amazon
20 The Ventures Amazon
21 The Ventures Amazon
22 The Ventures Amazon
23 The Ventures Amazon
24 The Ventures Amazon
25 The Ventures Amazon
26 The Ventures Amazon
27 The Ventures Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick