Various Artists

Dusty Fingers, Vol. 10

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The vinyl-based Dusty Fingers series is intended for sample hounds and lovers of the obscure. It searches high, low, and most imaginable points between for sample-ready material, whether it's oddball orchestral pop, rare groove, or a bizarre Italian film score. One slightly unnerving characteristic of the series is that short snippets -- typically just the break -- are occasionally provided instead of the full versions (thankfully this doesn't happen too often). Several series have provided a similar service, but few have dug this deep with such positive results. The tenth volume includes Nancy Holloway's "Sand and Rain," Serge Gainsbourg's "Requiem Pour un Con," Johnny Harris' "Light My Fire," Franz Auffray's "Son of Popcorn," Barry Cooper's "Impulsion Drums," Chapeau Melon's "Botte de Cuire," Brian Bennett's "The Unknown," and A. Parker's "Relaxed Spacious."

blue highlight denotes track pick