Various Artists

Compost 100

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of the coolest underground electronic music labels in the world celebrated its 100th release with a double-CD sampler of killer tracks at a wonderful price. What's best is that since Compost is only trying to showcase its sound, not its catalogue, it hasn't reissued anything here -- it's all new and exclusive to this release. From the minimal jazz-driven techno of the Trüby Trio with its amazing sampled double bassline on a Zero dB remix of "Galicia" to two new jazzed-out tracks by Beanfield to slippery Latin bossa house of the Salvador Group and a one-off "Discipline 100" by Karl Berger and les Gammas with Ingrid Sertso providing soaring and seductive vocals, this package is impossible to beat. Showcasing the entire range of electronica offered on its label, Compost has dug deeply for new tracks -- either commissioning them outright or purchasing unreleased gems from members (and non) of its stable. From jazzy house to minimal techno, to funky trance, it's all here. In fact, given the two-and-a-half hours that it takes to play this set, your party could be well underway by the time it's made it through its first round in the magazine. With more chords than Jobim's songbook, the Compost 100 compilation should set a new standard for labels showcasing their fare in this form. There are no edits, no singles, no album cuts, just an unshakable stack 'o' tracks from the hottest names in the underground -- check it, besides the aforementioned there, you get "Moments" by Ben Mono, "Crossbreed" by Kyoto Jazz Massive, "Don't Know 2001" by Fauna Flash vs Wei Chi, "Little Princess" by Forest Mighty Black, "Shadow in the City" by DJ Force, "Guilty as Charged" by Amalgamation of Soundz, "It's All Related to Life" by Procreation, and "Ten (Pole RMX)" by Fauna Flash just to name a few. What are you waiting for?

blue highlight denotes track pick