Dan Penn

Close to Me: More Fame Recordings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Ace's second collection of Fame recordings by Dan Penn equals the first from 2012, and part of the reason for its success is that it shifts ever so slightly away from material popularized by other singers. Close to Me: More Fame Recordings still essentially consists of exceptionally well-produced publishing demos -- songs written by Penn, often with a couple of other writers, notably Spooner Oldham and David Briggs -- and cut at FAME with the finest musicians the studio had to offer. Consequently, these 24 tracks don't feel like demos: they feel like fully formed recordings. Certainly, Penn and the FAME crew aren't tossing these songs away -- they want to turn these into hits, so they're putting their all into the rhythms and performances, so these songs feel like buried treasures instead of archival asides. As Close to Me rolls along, it feels like a lost treasure: unheard songs from perhaps the greatest songwriter at FAME, played with the house band and with a singer who is among the greatest blue-eyed soul vocalists. It's hard to resist.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Dan Penn 02:10 Amazon
2 Dan Penn 02:50 Amazon
3 Dan Penn 02:33 Amazon
4 Dan Penn 02:52 Amazon
5 Dan Penn 02:23 Amazon
6 Dan Penn 02:04 Amazon
7 Dan Penn 02:15 Amazon
8 Dan Penn 02:49 Amazon
9 Dan Penn 02:23 Amazon
10 Dan Penn 03:10 Amazon
11 Dan Penn 02:26 Amazon
12 Dan Penn 02:23 Amazon
13 Dan Penn 02:23 Amazon
14 Dan Penn 02:18 Amazon
15 Dan Penn 02:15 Amazon
16 Dan Penn 02:47 Amazon
17 Dan Penn 02:15 Amazon
18 Dan Penn 02:36 Amazon
19 Dan Penn 02:00 Amazon
20 Dan Penn 02:36 Amazon
21 Dan Penn 02:16 Amazon
22 Dan Penn 02:36 Amazon
23 Dan Penn 02:11 Amazon
24 Dan Penn 03:37 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick