Martha Argerich

Carte Blanche

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A chamber music concert recorded in Switzerland in 2007, with indifferent sound, and released in 2015 might seem to lack the urgency classical music needs. But this double-album Deutsche Grammophon release conveys reasonably well why it is that Argentine pianist Martha Argerich has remained a well-loved artist well into the later stages of her career, when she has offered very few big concerto performances. The album title refers to the choice given to Argerich in putting together this concert at the Verbier Festival: she was allowed to assemble a group of artists of her choice for chamber performances. Argerich finds the chamber medium congenial, and she somehow manages to impose her own personality on the whole even as she enters into those of others: she is totally in control in a highly spontaneous Beethoven Piano Trio No. 1 in D major, Op. 70/1 ("Ghost"), but matches an expansive Lang Lang step for step in the Schubert Rondo in A major, D. 951 ("Grand Rondeau"), and enters into a Latin mood with Gabriela Montero in the duo-piano Paganini Variations of Lutoslawski. Argerich's frequent duet partner Renaud Capuçon is present for a sharp Bartók Violin Sonata No. 1. In general, for those who think big-name chamber concerts were a thing of the past, check this out.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Piano Trio in D major Op. 70 no. 1 "Ghost"
1 6:43
2 11:19
3 8:20
Kinderszenen Op. 15 Scenes from Childhood
4 1:40
5 1:07
6 0:26
7 0:57
8 0:58
9 0:49
10 2:33
11 0:46
12 0:36
13 1:50
14 1:34
15 2:04
16 2:18
17 13:45
Ma Mre l'Oye For piano four hands
18 1:32
19 2:43
20 2:48
21 4:21
22 3:24
blue highlight denotes track pick