Martha Argerich / Sergei Babayan

Prokofiev for Two

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

It's Martha Argerich who is named first in the billing here and who has the star power. But really this album is more the product of Armenian pianist Sergei Babayan, a longtime friend of the great Argentine. Babayan wrote the two-piano arrangements of pieces from Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64, and other operatic and theatrical works of Prokofiev, and in places he seems to set the tone, although the overall mood is one of a spirited and fun exchange. Babayan's arrangements are detailed and evocative of the full orchestra, while at the same time setting the framework for a good deal of rhythmic zip. Sample one of the familiar Romeo and Juliet pieces, like the Dance of the Knights for an idea. The short selections from other works contain some lesser-known items like the Idée fixe from Prokofiev's music for a film of Pushkin's The Queen of Spades. Deutsche Grammophon contributes clear sound from Bavaria's Schloss Elmau, and the end result is both a fresh perspective on these mostly well-worn Prokofiev melodies and a great deal of fun.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
12 Movements From Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64
1 01:41
2 03:39
3 01:40
4 01:27
5 03:38
6 00:47
7 03:57
8 02:12
9 02:18
10 01:44
11 08:06
12 04:13
Incidental Music to Hamlet, Op. 77
13 05:36
Incidental Music to Eugene Onegin, Op. 71
14 01:26
15 01:32
The Queen of Spades, Op. 70
16 02:21
Pushkin Waltz in C sharp minor Op. 120
17 02:57
War and Peace, Op. 91
18 04:54
The Queen of Spades, Op. 70
19 05:54
blue highlight denotes track pick