Nicola Matteis

Biography by

Nicola Matteis was the leading violin virtuoso in the London scene in the last part of the seventeenth century and a minor composer of considerable popularity in his time. Practically nothing is known…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
The False Consonances of Musick 01:15 Chamber Music
Ostinatione in G major 01:26 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Aria ad Imitatione della Trombetta 04:58 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Preludio in G major 01:21 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Aria (from Ayres for the Violin) 01:49 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Fantasia for solo violin in B flat major (from Ayrs for the Violin) 02:13 Chamber Music
Scaramuccia (from Ayrs for the Violin) 01:28 Chamber Music
Concerto for 3 trumpets (from Ayres, Book 4) 04:06 Concerto
Alemanda facile (from Ayrs for the Violin) 02:07 Chamber Music
Aria No. 2 for guitar (from False Consonances of Musick) 01:29 Chamber Music
Musica grave (from Ayrs for the Violin) 01:43 Chamber Music
Adagio for guitar (from False Consonances of Musick) 01:38 Chamber Music
Preludio in ostinatione 01:11 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Sarabande 03:12 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Aria No. 3 for guitar (from False Consonances of Musick) 01:15 Chamber Music
Divisions on a ground in D minor 04:19 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Andamento malinconico 03:05 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Sarabande in G minor 02:50 Concerto
Giga Al Genio Turchescho 00:50 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Adamento con divisione (from Ayres for the Violin) 02:12 Miscellaneous (Classical)
See All Compositions