Maurice Duruflé

Biography by

Maurice Duruflé (1902-1986) was a French organist and composer noted for the sensitivity and refinement of his music.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Requiem, for orchestra, organ & chorus; for organ & chorus; for small ensemble, organ & chorus, Op. 9 (3 versions) 1947 Choral
Motets (4) on Gregorian Themes, for chorus, Op.10 1960 Choral
Suite, for organ, Op. 5 1933 Keyboard
Prelude and Fugue on the name A.L.A.I.N., for organ, Op. 7 1942 Keyboard
Missa "Cum Jubilo", for baritone, baritone chorus, orchestra & organ, Op. 11 1966 Choral
Prelude, Adagio and Chorale Variations on the "Veni Creator", for organ & baritone choir, Op. 4 1930 Choral Keyboard
Scherzo, for organ, Op. 2 1926 Keyboard
Prelude on the Introit of the Epiphany, for organ, Op. 13 1962 Keyboard
Ubi caritas, motet for chorus, Op. 10/1 1960 Choral
Fugue on the Carillon of the Cathedral of Soissons, Op. 12 1962 Keyboard
Notre Père (2 versions), for chorus; for male voices & organ, Op. 14 1976 Choral
Tota pulchra es, Maria, motet for chorus, Op. 10/2 1960 Choral
Méditation, for organ 1964 Keyboard
Hommage à Jean Gallon ("Chant donné"), for organ Keyboard
Prelude, Recitative and Variations, for flute, viola & piano, Op. 3 1928 Chamber Music
Work(s) Miscellaneous (Classical)
Tu es Petrus, motet for chorus, Op. 10/3 1960 Choral
Dances (3), for orchestra (or 2 pianos), Op. 6 1937 Orchestral
Tantum ergo, motet for chorus, Op. 10/4 1960 Choral
Improvisations (5), for organ (transcriptions by Duruflé of performances by his teacher Tournemire) Keyboard
See All Compositions