Franz Joseph Haydn

Biography by

Haydn was an Austrian composer of the Classical era whose influence on his contemporaries and later composers was immense.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Die Schöpfung (The Creation), oratorio, H. 21/2 1798 Choral
Symphony No. 94 in G major ("Surprise"/"The Drumstroke"/"Mit dem Paukenschlag"), H. 1/94 1791 Symphony
Trumpet Concerto in E flat major, H. 7e/1 1796 Concerto
Symphony No. 104 in D major ("London"), H. 1/104 1795 Symphony
Die Jahreszeiten (The Seasons), oratorio, H. 21/3 1801 Choral
Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, H. 7b/1 1765 Concerto
Symphony No. 101 in D major ("Clock"), H. 1/101 1793 Symphony
Cello Concerto No. 2 in D major, H. 7b/2 (Op. 101) 1783 Concerto
String Quartet No. 62 in C major ("Emperor"), Op. 76/3, H. 3/77 1797 Chamber Music
Symphony No. 100 in G major ("Military") H. 1/100 1793 Symphony
Keyboard Sonata in E flat major, H. 16/52 1794 Keyboard
Symphony No. 103 in E flat major ("Drumroll"), H. 1/103 1795 Symphony
Keyboard Sonata in C major, H. 16/50 1794 Keyboard
Symphony No. 96 in D major ("Miracle"), H. 1/96 1791 Symphony
Symphony No. 45 in F sharp minor ("Farewell"/"Candle"/"Letter B"), H. 1/45 1772 Symphony
String Quartet in F major ("Serenade"), Op. 3/5, H. 3/17 (spurious, possibly by Hoffstetter) 1777 Chamber Music
Symphony No. 6 in D major ("Le Matin"), H. 1/6 1761 Symphony
Keyboard Sonata in E flat major, H. 16/49 1789 Keyboard
Work(s) Miscellaneous (Classical)
Symphony No. 92 in G major ("Oxford"/"Letter Q"), H. 1/92 1789 Symphony
See All Compositions