Franz Berwald

Biography by

Berwald is a significant Swedish composer, although it was only in the 20th century that his oeuvre was thoroughly explored and appreciated.
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Symphony No. 3 in C, "Sinfonie Singulière" 1845 Symphony
Symphony No. 1 in G minor, "Sérieuse" 1842 Symphony
Symphony No. 4 in E flat, "Sinfonie Naïve" 1845 Symphony
Septet for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello & double-bass in B-flat major, "Grand" 1828 Chamber Music
Symphony No. 2 in D, "Sinfonie Capricieuse" 1842 Symphony
Estrella de Soria, opera 1841 Opera
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D major 1855 Concerto
Piano Quintet No. 1 in C minor 1853 Chamber Music
Elfenspiel (Play of the Elves), for orchestra 1842 Orchestral
PIano Trio No. 1 in E flat major 1849 Chamber Music
Erinnerung an die Norwegischen Alpen, tone poem for orchestra 1842 Orchestral
String Quartet No 2 in A minor 1849 Chamber Music
Wettlauf, etude for orchestra 1842 Orchestral
Overture to Drottningen av Golconda Orchestral
Estrella de Soria, opera: overture 1841 Orchestral
Quartet for piano, clarinet, horn & bassoon in E flat 1819 Chamber Music
Konzertstück for bassoon & orchestra 1827 Concerto
String Quartet No 3 in E-flat major 1849 Chamber Music
Duo for violin & piano in D major 1857 Chamber Music
Drottningen Av Golconda, opera 1864 Opera
See All Compositions