Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

Biography by

The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra has been promoting Finnish music since its inception in 1927 as a group of 10 musicians.
Read Full Biography

Artist Biography by

The Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, although a relatively small orchestra, is one of the most adventurous orchestras in Europe and one of the best orchestras in a country that has more symphonies per capita than any other country. Based in Helsinki, it is the primary radio orchestra of the Finnish Broadcasting Company.

It was founded in 1927 as a small studio ensemble at Finnish Radio, the state-owned broadcasting organization. It reached symphony orchestra size in 1947, and now numbers 70 players. Its repertory is made up primarily of pre-Romantic works, but also includes those of the Romantic, Post-Romantic, Modern, and Contemporary eras. It still premieres a number of new works commissioned by the broadcasting company each year. In its performances and recordings, the orchestra has become a significant advocate for contemporary Finnish composers.

Its conductors have included Toivo Haapanen, Paavo Berglund, Leif Segerstam, Okku Kamu, and Jukka-Pekka Saraste. Sakari Oramo became music director in the fall of 2003. Under Saraste tours became a regular practice for the orchestra, including travel to Asia, Vienna, London, and the Canary Islands.

In addition to all of the FRSO's concerts being broadcast, the orchestra has made over 80 recordings. In fact, the only surviving recording of Jean Sibelius conducting was the FRSO's first recording, made in 1939. Other Finnish composers the orchestra has recorded, mainly for the BIS and Ondine labels, include Leif Segerstam, Leevi Madetoja, Paavo Heininen, Joonas Kokkonen, Magnus Lindberg, Kaija Saariaho, Aarre Merikanto, Aulis Sallinen, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Väinö Raitio, Jouni Kaipainen, Uuno Klami, and Eero Hämeenniemi.