Aaron Avshalomov

Biography by

Avshalomov received his education at the Zurich Conservatory. In 1914 he moved to China and began his study of native Chinese music. This study prompted him to incorporate Chinese subjects and themes…
Read Full Biography

Composition Highlights

Title Year Avg. Duration Genre
Piano Concerto 32:41 Concerto
Symphony No. 2 33:14
Flute Concerto 25:04 Concerto
Violin Concerto 1937 35:54 Concerto
Soul of the Ch'in, ballet-pantomime 1925 35:21 Ballet
Symphony No. 1 41:44
Peiping Hutungs: Symphonic poem on Chinese Street Sounds and Cries, for orchestra 1931 09:51 Orchestral
Nocturne, Kwei Fei's Lament, for erhu (from the opera Yang Kwe-fei) 06:17 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Lantern Dance, for erhu (from the opera Yang Kewi-fei) 05:50 Miscellaneous (Classical)
Concerto on Chinese Themes and Rhythms for piano & orchestra in G major 1935 27:30 Concerto
Four Biblical Tableaux (B'nai Brith Rigual Suite), for orchestra 1928 12:10 Orchestral
See All Compositions