Various Artists

Young Turks 2013

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Beginning in September 2013, British label Young Turks (home of the xx, SBTRKT, Chairlift, FKA Twigs, etc.) launched a limited-edition 12" single series called Young Turks 2013. Each split single featured songs by recent roster signings or exclusive collaborations with label affiliates, all with new artwork. This eight-song collection compiles all four of the singles from that series. Some of the tracks were new and exclusive to the series, like "I'll Be Watching You," a collaboration between Spanish producers John Talabot and Pional, while others, like FKA Twigs' "Water Me," were also available on other Young Turks releases. The track "Reconsider" by the xx was an outtake from their 2012 album Coexist. The material here is all in keeping with the label's cool EDM vibe, and the compilation is an easy way to collect some worthy non-album content in one convenient place.

blue highlight denotes track pick