Benny Goodman

Yale Recordings, Vol. 10: The Yale University Music Library

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of the most beloved jazz groups of all time was the original Benny Goodman Quartet, which featured Lionel Hampton, Teddy Wilson, and Gene Krupa. Despite its fame, the unit was only actually together for 16 months between 1936 and 1938 and, even with occasional reunions through the decades, the Quartet only recorded one studio record after its original breakup. Yale Recordings, Vol. 10 (MusicMasters) is comprised of unreleased material from the three sessions that resulted in the 1963 RCA album (which was reissued again later in 1996). There are second versions of "Who Cares" and "Dearest," and a rehearsal excerpt of the blues "Four Once More," but otherwise the songs are completely different from what was originally released; only "Liza" had been previously recorded by the classic quartet. It is quite unusual to hear these famous veterans interpreting such numbers as "Loves Ends a Little Gift of Roses," "Bernie's Tune," "East of the Sun," and "It's All Right with Me." Although there are times when one wishes that there were a bassist added, and that Krupa would lay a bit easier on his bass drum, the relaxed music does swing and adds to the very rich legacy of Benny Goodman. Incidentally, this is the tenth release of "new" material that is drawn from the scores of private tapes that the King of Swing willed to the Yale University Music Library.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 03:21 Amazon
2 03:27 Amazon
3 03:05 Amazon
4 02:41 Amazon
5 07:14 Amazon
6 04:27 Amazon
7 03:20 Amazon
8 03:46 Amazon
9 03:27 Amazon
10 01:50 Amazon
11 03:21 Amazon
12 03:36 Amazon
13 04:14 Amazon
14 04:26 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick