Wesla Whitfield

With a Song in My Heart

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Nearly all the songs in Wesla Whitfield's CD of songs by Rodgers and Hart (or Hart and Rodgers, as she prefers to emphasize the considerable gifts of the lyricist) have been recorded countless times by jazz singers, not even tabulating similar songbooks devoted to one of Broadway's most gifted songwriting partnerships. But Whitfield makes sure she includes every commonly omitted verse, utilizing her powerful alto to mesh with pianist (and husband) Mike Greensill's innovative arrangements to add her own touch to each of the songs. Her inflections in the bittersweet "Spring Is Here" add a new depth to an already emotional song, while Greensill's perky chart of "This Can't Be Love" showcases Whitfield's playfulness. The phenomenal bassist Michael Moore adds a lot to this session as well; his matchless arco bass introduces the medley of "My Romance," which segues into the lively but neglected "Johnny One Note." While the productive partnership of Hart and Rodgers (or Rodgers and Hart for hard-headed traditionalists) is unlikely to be matched in the history of songwriting, the partnership of Wesla Whitfield and Mike Greensill is an extremely successful musical marriage that is always a delight to hear.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:56 Amazon
2 03:26 Amazon
3 01:59 Amazon
4 04:03 Amazon
5 02:50 Amazon
6 05:47 Amazon
7 03:03 Amazon
8 03:57 Amazon
9 04:24 Amazon
10 02:56 Amazon
11 03:25 Amazon
12 03:15 Amazon
13 04:18 Amazon
14 03:04 Amazon
15 02:56 Amazon
16 03:13 Amazon
17 03:38 Amazon
18 03:35 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick