Commander Cody / Commander Cody and His Lost Planet Airmen

We've Got a Live One Here!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This is really the final hurrah for the band, in spite of the fact that there were more recordings to follow. This is a two-record set from their 1976 tour of Europe with most of the original members still onboard. After this tour, George Frayne (aka Commander Cody) broke up the band, which now included Norton Buffalo. While this live recording is just as powerful as the preceding Live Deep in the Heart of Texas, it is obvious that some of their fire is burning mighty low. Still, this bunch always did their best work on-stage and they never failed to satisfy. Full of old standards, some new favorites, and plenty of wattage to make it all work just right, the standout tunes here are the Commander Cody classics like "Seeds and Stems," "Too Much Fun," and "Lost in the Ozone." Other numbers that bring back the good old days include the Airmen's version of "Milkcow Blues" and "San Antonio Rose." Trucker songs, big with the Continental crowd, are "Semi Truck," "Lookin' at the World Through a Windshield," and "18 Wheels." Other numbers of note are "One of Those Nights," written by Farlow, Frayne, and Kirchen, as well as the Commander's send-ups of "Smoke! Smoke! Smoke!," "Riot in Cell Block #9," and "Hot Rod Lincoln." Always extraordinary, the era of Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen was a special moment in time that created a place for hipsters, cosmic cowboys, rednecks, and the working class to all come together and enjoy some real American music. Never will there be another band like this one or recordings like the ones they made between 1971-1976. They ended this project with "Lost in the Ozone," bringing the band and its audience full circle.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:10 Amazon
2 2:21 Amazon
3 3:43 Amazon
4 3:40 Amazon
5 5:10 Amazon
6 3:29 Amazon
7 4:46 Amazon
8 2:09 Amazon
9 1:52 Amazon
10 4:07 Amazon
11 2:09 Amazon
12 3:55 Amazon
13 3:35
14 2:43 Amazon
15 3:45 Amazon
16 2:58 Amazon
17 3:24 Amazon
18 4:25 Amazon
19 2:42 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick