Semyon Bychkov

Wagner: Lohengrin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This Profil release is pulled together out of several performances of Richard Wagner's opera Lohengrin in a production given at Cologne Philharmonic Hall, led by Semyon Bychkov, in late May to mid June 2008. While issued as a hybrid multichannel DSD three-disc set, the sound is not particularly spectacular, being a little murky and slanted toward the extremes of the spectrum; quiet passages are extremely quiet and loud ones will levitate you out of your seat. It is nonetheless a good performance of Lohengrin, though no one in the cast is particularly well noted, and none of them turns in a performance that would tend to capture one's attention apart from the rest. Clearly this Lohengrin is presented with the attitude of providing an appropriate and respectful service to the work, rather than providing a showcase for a given singer. And for that it works; it is a swiftly moving, efficient performance included with the complete libretto in three languages and if one is planning on taking in a performance of Lohengrin and wants to become familiar with the opera beforehand, this Profil set is close to ideal. On the other hand, for those who own a Lohengrin or two already and know how Elsa is going to get out of the mess she's in, this set likely won't unseat any longstanding favorite recording already on the shelf. As the depth of Lohengrin recordings is nowhere near what it is for the operas in Wagner's Ring cycle or Tristan und Isolde, Profil had a chance to bring on a genuinely competitive set; here it settles for something merely acceptable and relatively ordinary, which is still a nice offering but not likely to grab the brass ring.

Track Listing - Disc 2

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Lohengrin, opera, WWV 75
1 09:00 Amazon
2 03:40 Amazon
3 04:10 Amazon
4 01:17 Amazon
5 02:46 Amazon
6 07:48 Amazon
7 04:24 Amazon
8 08:09 Amazon
9 05:26 Amazon
10 05:09 Amazon
11 03:20 Amazon
12 05:36 Amazon
13 04:48 Amazon
14 04:09 Amazon
15 03:20 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick