Sonny Boy Williamson II

U.K. Blues

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Recorded over two nights with the Yardbyrds in December 1963, and then two weeks later with the Animals, the historical live recordings offer a rare glimpse into one of the main catalysts behind the British blues explosion of the early 1960s. Notable not just for the quality of the recording but the backing bands behind the blues legend, the songs show a man not past his prime but fortunate enough to have it finally exposed to a wider audience. The River Rhine, which sounds similar to the Champs' hit "Tequila" slightly, doesn't lose its stamina, while the harmonica work carries most of the album. Apparently changing the pre-arranged set list, some of the numbers consist mainly of Williamson on harmonica, but Eric Clapton can be heard on "Take It Easy Baby." Although "Western Arizona" and "My Little Cabin" are boogie- and blues-riddled highpoints, the second half of the album is more energized. Culminating with Eric Burdon on "Nobody But You," the quality is only surpassed by the significance of this momentous event between teacher and students.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:40
2 3:56
3 5:21
4 5:07
5 2:12
6 5:43
7 3:00
8 3:02
9 1:04
10 3:21
11 3:43
feat: The Animals
13 4:16
14 3:34
15 3:02
16 3:48
17 4:07
18 4:22
19 3:54
20 7:08
blue highlight denotes track pick