Laura Watling


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ex-Autocollants and Casino Ashtrays singer Laura Watling followed up Early Morning Walk with this seven-song disc on Hong Kong's Sofa Records. The California-based singer/songwriter managed to cull seven indie pop gems for the mini-album, after having already released 16 songs on her preceding disc. The CD begins with the light and reflective "Good Times Never Last," which is followed by the dynamic and catchy "The Wonderful Disappointment," and the equally charming "You've Got Everything." The musical pace slows down on the soulful "Cleaning," which is similar to some of the Softies more slow and subdued indie pop classics. On track six, Watling pays tribute to one of her musical heroes, the British-based shoegazers Moose. The disc ends with the instrumental "Under the Ice," which is led by a meditative piano line. With Twenty-Five, Watling showed remarkable musical maturity, leaving little doubt that her musical muscles continue to grow. Watling recorded the songs on Twenty-Five at home, and the album was mixed and mastered by Monterey's Jon Chaikin at New York's Nonstop Sound.