The Music Machine

Turn On: The Very Best of the Music Machine

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This album contains all 12 tracks from the Music Machine's 1966 debut album, (Turn On) The Music Machine (Original Sound 5015), including their two chart singles, "Talk Talk" and "The People in Me," plus both sides of both of their third and fourth singles, "Double Yellow Line"/"Absolutely Positive" and "I've Loved You"/"The Eagle Never Hunts the Fly." This is the group's entire output for Original Sound Records; they switched to Warner Bros. in 1967 and changed their personnel and their name to Bonniwell's Music Machine. Singer/guitarist/songwriter Sean Bonniwell dominates the proceedings with his sonorous voice, whether the band is playing originals like the unforgettable garage rock classic "Talk Talk" or such covers as the Beatles' "Taxman" and fellow garage dwellers ? & the Mysterians' "96 Tears." The playing is rudimentary, but more disciplined than that of many of the rock bands that came into existence in the mid-'60s, and Bonniwell's songwriting is sufficiently varied that it is regrettable the group didn't get much of a chance beyond its initial hit.

blue highlight denotes track pick