James Tenney

Three New Seeds

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In the collection Arraymusic: New World. Composed in 1991 for clarinet/bass clarinet, trumpet, contrabass, piano and two percussionists, this piece treats a similar dramatic gesture to three different pointillistic orchestrations. The title is based on a set of very short and early pieces (1956-1957) entitled Seeds which was inspired by the music of Webern, Varese and Cage.