The Willis Files

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On 1998's The Willis Files, lo-fi quartet Unbunny compiled songs from the band's back catalog from 1995-1997. Most of the tracks had been previously released on Ghost Train Records. Starting off with the bright and layered "Supersonic," it's once again clear that singer Jarid Del Deo's high-pitched, reflective vocals are the most powerful aspect of Unbunny's music. Del Deo's intricate guitar, Timothy Golumb's percussion, and Christopher Hall's bass add to the songs' simple, homegrown charm. From the light-hearted "Easy to Be Me" (with backing vocals by "Victoria Foote") and "Cleanspot" to the melancholia of songs like "Superstar" and "Invisible Boy," the band displays an ability to artfully create fresh, lively songs with various themes, focusing mainly on the frailties and passions of Del Deo, the band's impassioned leader. Songs like "Transformer" transpose thoughtful, brooding lyrics with light, jangly instrumentation. The disc ends with "Broken Song," another example of Unbunny's ability to create musical serenity with a mostly acoustic-approach, despite the prevalence of thoughtful intensity throughout the album's 14 tracks.

blue highlight denotes track pick