Øyvind Holm

The Vanishing Act

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On his solo debut, Øyvind Holm of Norway's Dipsomaniacs offers accomplished if derivative neo-psych-pop with the emphasis on the pop half. There's a vaguely late-'60s/early-'70s John Lennon-esque dust to much of the material, though without a whole lot of bite. There are also nods to power pop, wistful late-'60s British songwriting along the lines of Ray Davies, and (on "Neighbourhood Watch Patrol") country-rock, the songs often mixing gauzy impressions of outdoor imagery with melancholic reflections upon romantic relationships. Holm's voice is more the upper-register pine of David Bowie than it is the grittier tone of John Lennon, and there's a sunny flavor permeating even his darker material. Songs that are above average for this retro genre include the surf-tempoed "Seven Years," the especially Kinksian "Wait My Time Away," and "The Vanishing Act," the last of which has particularly psychedelically textured keyboards.

blue highlight denotes track pick