Discord Aggregate

The Texture of the Sky

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Attack of the Absolute Zeros had been written and recorded only months after A. Molotkov, S.B. Reda, and Pamela Zero formed Discord Aggregate. Although ideas showed a commending level of maturity, the album relied on session musicians. By mid-1998, S.B. Reda had come back to music and Molotkov was learning keyboards, violin, and percussion. Therefore The Texture of the Sky (released in July 2001) became an autarkical effort. Consequently it shows a deeper integration of its literary and musical aspects, but also a more complex, even twisted structure that makes it more difficult to get into than the generally linear plot of the previous CD. The Texture of the Sky is based on an interactive novel by Molotkov and Reda. The plot can be summed up in one sentence: the sky wants you to dream, you want to wake up. The album is comprised of six vocal and music works split into short parts (none of the 31 tracks runs over four minutes). These sections are scattered all over the CD and the listener is encouraged to use the random function of the CD player to generate his or her own sequence (although ending with "The Message" is very nice). The technique is similar to The Attack of the Absolute Zeros: a story with a narrator and characters is interpreted and blended with Pamela Zero's multi-tracked vocal pieces and musical accompaniments. The latter part has significantly improved and features very strong loose compositions that enhance the dream effect. Of course, this CD is better when listened to under perfect conditions, with no distractions and with headphones. Strongly recommended to avant-garde fans, especially those interested in hörspiels.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 02:23
2 00:48
3 01:18
4 01:43
5 02:18
6 03:07
7 02:11
8 00:54
9 01:26
10 02:09
11 01:54
12 02:17
13 02:21
14 01:49
15 03:24
16 02:05
17 02:46
18 02:39
19 02:39
20 01:39
21 03:18
22 01:31
23 00:50
24 01:20
25 04:12
26 00:55
27 01:05
28 01:45
29 00:33
30 01:41
31 02:58
blue highlight denotes track pick