Jean Redpath

The Songs of Robert Burns, Vols. 5 & 6

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Jean Redpath was undoubtedly the finest and most influential singer of traditional Scottish music when she made her groundbreaking seven-LP series of Robert Burns songs for the Philo label in the mid-'80s. In 1996 they were reissued on CD to commemorate the bicentennial of Burns' death. Both the original releases and the reissues would be cause for great celebration for lovers of this repertoire, except that the instrumental settings within which Redpath sings are rather idiosyncratic. All are the result of extensive research by the composer Serge Hovey, who determined which melodies Burns had intended for each song; Hovey then composed chamber ensemble arrangements based on those melodies. Some of them are exquisite -- the stark and lovely string orchestra setting on "My Nannie, O" is the perfect accompaniment to Redpath's smoky mezzo-soprano voice, and the arpeggiated piano part on "Lament of Mary, Queen of Scots" works beautifully as well. But, too often the accompaniment calls too much attention to itself, distracting both from the songs and from Redpath. This is particularly true of the bravura piano on "Killiecrankie" and the off-kilter flute and piano parts on "O, This Is No My Ain Lassie." Recommended, but with reservations.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:02 Amazon
2 3:13 Amazon
3 2:08 Amazon
4 3:52 Amazon
5 1:16 Amazon
6 3:41 Amazon
7 3:54 Amazon
8 4:37 Amazon
9 1:27 Amazon
10 2:57 Amazon
11 7:55 Amazon
12 2:50 Amazon
13 1:50 Amazon
14 1:49 Amazon
15 3:00 Amazon
16 1:56 Amazon
17 4:12 Amazon
18 4:22 Amazon
19 2:58 Amazon
20 3:05 Amazon
21 1:19 Amazon
22 3:34 Amazon
23 1:09 Amazon
24 5:51 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick