The Singles A's & B's

The Troggs

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Singles A's & B's Review

by Steve Leggett

At nearly 80 tracks spread over three CDs, this set collects more Troggs than most people will truly be able to bear, finishing with several solo sides by lead singer Reg Presley. The group's biggest hits are here, including its signature caveman stomper "Wild Thing" (written by Chip Taylor and featuring an improbable ocarina solo), the pop gem "With a Girl Like You," and the breezy ballad "Love Is All Around," but what makes this package really interesting are the various other tracks that either show the Troggs trying to replicate their biggest successes by cloning them under the guise of a new song or truly stretching into different territory. Presley's vocals range from sneering to sweet, mellow, and flowery, depending on the song, but what emerges here is the fact that the Troggs, although they had a proto-punk image thanks to the 1966 success of "Wild Thing," were really a power pop band specializing in pretty ballads, and they were quite good at it.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 The Troggs 02:33 Amazon
2 The Troggs 02:40 Amazon
3 The Troggs 02:36 Amazon
4 The Troggs 02:22 Amazon
5 The Troggs 02:07 Amazon
6 The Troggs 02:15 Amazon
7 The Troggs 03:05 Amazon
8 The Troggs 02:48 Amazon
9 The Troggs 02:56 Amazon
10 The Troggs 02:35 Amazon
11 The Troggs 02:14 Amazon
12 The Troggs 02:23 Amazon
13 The Troggs 03:05 Amazon
The Troggs 02:02 Amazon
15 The Troggs 02:58 Amazon
The Troggs 02:45 Amazon
The Troggs 02:03 Amazon
18 The Troggs 03:00 Amazon
The Troggs 02:41 Amazon
20 The Troggs 02:57 Amazon
The Troggs 02:12 Amazon
22 The Troggs 02:47 Amazon
The Troggs 02:05 Amazon
24 The Troggs 02:52 Amazon
The Troggs 02:42 Amazon
The Troggs 02:18 Amazon
The Troggs 02:45 Amazon
The Troggs 02:55 Amazon
29 The Troggs 02:50 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick