Insane Clown Posse

The Mighty Death Pop!

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Being a "love 'em or hate 'em" group, it was about time the prolific and conceptual Insane Clown Posse got around to a “love 'em or hate 'em” album, and while this rap-rock battle cry called The Mighty Death Pop is the second joker card in the second stack of joker cards, this lofty yet ludicrous over-riding concept the group has been pimping since day one doesn't cloud what is essentially a "we're pissed" album. Oh course they're pissed at the music press, who use them as punching bags at a level even Kiss never suffered, but there's a level of clarity here their detractors would never expect, and as "certified hoe," Chris Brown gets gunned down by the Clowns during the cleverly titled, Grammy massacre called "Shooting Stars," the Detroit duo's argument that spouse abuse is way beyond what ICP advocate as worthy consideration, even if the rest of the lyrics could be used in court for a search warrant looking for stockpiled weapons. Interesting how the bad side of their Juggalo fan base gets skewered here and there when most thought there was no side but bad, but even as the group turn their venom into rhymes that should be universally accepted as inspired, it's still a cult group bitching about cult group trappings, which will wear on those outside the inner circle of fandom. For those on the outside, there's the wicked genius productions from Mike E. Clark, Psychopathic's not-so-secret weapon who can help Kid Rock climb the charts with "All Summer Long" and still return here for super fun songs about Faygo ("Juggalo Juice") and hooky nightmare anthems that ape Danny Elfman for the best ("SKREEEEEM!" with fellow fringe rappers Tech N9ne and Hopsin). Turns out the group and their mad doctor soundman, are both ready to rumble, even if the world won't listen; closeted fans might want to peek their heads out for this one, while Juggalo regulars should dive right in.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:27
2 2:48
3 3:12
4 3:23
5 4:07
6 3:38
7 3:19
8 2:05
9 3:04
10 4:51
11 4:40
12 3:46
13 2:24
14 1:46
15 3:42
16 3:41
17 5:04
18 5:15

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time
2 5:44
3 3:25
4 4:28
5 1:32
6 3:42
7 4:13
8 3:09
9 3:31
10 4:08
11 4:43
feat: Joe Strange
13 6:52
blue highlight denotes track pick