The Last of England

Derek Jarman

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Last of England Review

by Brian Olewnick

The late director Derek Jarman's film The Last of England was a non-narrative series of images, largely desolate and foreboding, depicting his vision of post-Thatcher Britain. The soundtrack organized for it, by his longtime collaborator Simon Turner, mirrors this approach, constructing a varied framework of his own music along with the contributions of several others, including Mayo Thompson, Barry Adamson, and Diamanda Galás. The disc is divided into three sections. First is an 8-track suite (designated collectively as "Bombers") by Turner, and it's extraordinarily impressive. He mixes in various genres, often very tonal and nostalgic (church hymns, Spanish guitar music, romantic string arrangements) with found sounds, spoken words, and extremely harsh electronic effects; at one point, it sounds very much as though a titanic car wreck is occurring within one's speakers. The closing "Hymn for Thatcher" is cloyingly sweet, and just when the listener is about to scream, Tilda Swinton's sarcastic voice appears over the top: "Yeah, yeah, yeah--enough!" and continues on to mockingly singalong. The second section is a series of tunes by various performers, generally in a rock vein, and features a killer number by ex- Gang of Four member Andy Gill, "In the Free World," as well as a rich mini-soundpiece by Adamson. The final portion (designated, "Dead to the World") for the most part consists of spoken texts by Jarman and several of his actors, laid over evocative, pastoral music by Turner; very effective and moving. On the penultimate track, Turner indulges in his penchant for silly kitsch with the upbeat dance number "Broadway Boy" before succumbing to the closing, muted hums of the oscilloscope that symbolize "The National Grid," with its intimations of mind control. The Last of England is a superb, multifaceted musical document, easily enjoyed apart from the film it originally accompanied and stands as one of the high water marks in Turner's career. Highly recommended.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 02:22 Amazon
2 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 03:27 Amazon
3 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 01:24 Amazon
4 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 02:24 Amazon
5 Derek Jarman 01:41 Amazon
6 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 03:02 Amazon
7 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 02:49 Amazon
8 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 07:04 Amazon
9 Derek Jarman feat: Albert Oehlen / Tilda Swinton / Mayo Thompson 03:25 Amazon
10 Derek Jarman feat: Brian Gulland / M. Turner 01:04 Amazon
11 Derek Jarman feat: Barry Adamson / Paul Kendall 04:41 Amazon
12 Derek Jarman feat: Dean Garcia / Andrew Gill 04:47 Amazon
13 Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 00:20 Amazon
14 Derek Jarman feat: Diamanda Galás 05:03 Amazon
Derek Jarman feat: Diamanda Galás 07:20 Amazon
16 Derek Jarman feat: Nigel Terry / Simon Fisher Turner 02:16 Amazon
Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 01:44 Amazon
Derek Jarman feat: Sally Herbert / Simon Fisher Turner 05:54 Amazon
19 Derek Jarman feat: Mayo Thompson / El Tito / Simon Fisher Turner 01:26 Amazon
Derek Jarman feat: M. Turner 01:23 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick