Joy Electric

The Land of Misfits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The remix EP The Land of Misfits features a very dance-oriented version of Joy Electric's hit single "Monosynth" as well as reworkings of "The Cobbler" and "I'm Your Boy," which is spiked with drum'n'bass-like breakbeats. Another single, "Sugar Rush," also features breakbeats and a stripped-down synth part, removing some of the charm of the original's melodic hooks. The previously unreleased "The North Sea" is sparse and sad, featuring washes of ambient synth and a mournful vocal melody. The Land of Misfits indicates that Joy Electric continue to find new and different levels of synth pop to explore and create.

blue highlight denotes track pick